Lawrence Levine, Geoffrey Ward and Tiya Alicia Miles: win awards at the OAH annual meeting

Historians in the News

At the annual meeting of the Organization of American Historians Lawrence Levine, professor of history and cultural studies at George Mason University, won the Distinguished Service Award.

Geoffrey Ward won the Friend of History award for his broad support of history in books and numerous documentaries, including two Emmy-winning television series: Civil War and Baseball.

Tiya Alicia Miles picked up the Frederick Jackson Turner Award, which is given to first-time authors. She won for the book, Ties that Bind: The Story of an Afro-Cherokee Family in Slavery and Freedom.

comments powered by Disqus