Wolfson History Book prizes are announced (UK)

Historians in the News

Books on Empire and the Gothic architect Pugin have won the Wolfson History Awards announced this week. Revealed at a ceremony at Claridge’s in London on June 10th, the prizes went to Rosemary Hill for God’s Architect and John Darwin for After Tamerlane. The winners of the annual Wolfson Prize, which was established in 1972, both receive £20,000. The judges were Sir Keith Thomas, Dame Averil Cameron, Professor Richard Evans and Professor David Cannadine. Books, which should be scholarly but attract the general reader, must be published in the UK and the authors should be British citizens. Previous winners include Professor Sir Nikolaus Pevsner (1976) and Dr Simon Schama (1977). God’s Architect: Pugin and the Building of Romantic Britain was published in Allen Lane in August 2007 and will be out in Penguin paperback in August 2008; After Tamerlane: The Rise and Fall of Global Empires, 1400-2000 was published in Allen Lane in April 2007 and is out now in Penguin paperback.
Read entire article at History Today

comments powered by Disqus