American Historical Association Announces 2019 Prize Winners

Historians in the News
tags: teaching, American Historical Association, scholarship, research, awards, 2019, winners, publications

The American Historical Association is pleased to announce the winners of its 2019 prizes, to be awarded at the 134th annual meeting in New York City on January 3–6, 2020. The ceremony will be held on Friday, January 3, in the Sheraton New York’s Metropolitan Ballroom East at 7:00 p.m., immediately following the meeting’s opening reception.

The AHA offers annual prizes honoring exceptional books, distinguished teaching and mentoring in the classroom, public history, and other historical projects. Since 1896, the Association has conferred over a thousand awards. This year’s finalists were selected from a field of over 1,400 entries by nearly 150 dedicated prize committee members. The names, publications, and projects of those who received these awards are a catalog of the best work produced in the historical discipline. Please join us at the ceremony in January to honor this year’s recipients.

Awards for Publications

The Herbert Baxter Adams Prize for an author’s first book in European history from 1815 through the 20th century

Mar Hicks (Illinois Inst. of Technology) for Programmed Inequality: How Britain Discarded Women Technologists and Lost Its Edge in Computing (MIT Press, 2018)

The George Louis Beer Prize in European international history since 1895

Quinn Slobodian (Wellesley Coll.) for Globalists: The End of Empire and the Birth of Neoliberalism (Harvard Univ. Press, 2018)

The Jerry Bentley Prize in world history

Priya Satia (Stanford Univ.) for Empire of Guns: The Violent Making of the Industrial Revolution (Penguin Press, 2018)

The Albert J. Beveridge Award on the history of the United States, Latin America, or Canada, from 1492 to the present

Nan Enstad (Univ. of Wisconsin–Madison) for Cigarettes, Inc.: An Intimate History of Corporate Imperialism (Univ. of Chicago Press, 2018)

The James Henry Breasted Prize in any field of history prior to CE 1000

Jack Tannous (Princeton Univ.) for The Making of the Medieval Middle East: Religion, Society, and Simple Believers (Princeton Univ. Press, 2018)

Read entire article at AHA Perspectives on History

comments powered by Disqus