Shortlist for Cundill History Prize Released

Historians in the News
tags: prizes, Cundill History Prize

Administered by McGill University, and offering an award of  $75,000 to the winner and $10,000 to the two runners-up, the Cundill History Prize is the largest prize award for a book of non-fiction in English. It is open to books from anywhere in the world, regardless of the author’s nationality, as well as works translated into English.


Juror Misha Glenny said: "Reading this raft of superb history books was an inspiration. Every entry demonstrated a firm grip on the historian’s craft combined with great flair in the writing and construction of the narrative. The toughest part of the judging process came when we had to exclude titles. Every submission could have happily found a place on the short list. There were no bad books but a great deal of strong competition. What struck me most, though, in considering these works was how important history remains for understanding our present and how it can offer a guide to action in overcome the unprecedented challenges we now face."


The 2022 Cundill History Prize Shortlist is:


J.P Daughton

In the Forest of No Joy

W.W. Norton & Company


Ada Ferrer




Henrietta Harrison

The Perils of Interpreting

Princeton University Press


Harald Jahner


Ebury, PRH


Tiya Miles

All That She Carried

Random House


Mae Ngai

The Chinese Question

W.W. Norton & Company


M. E. Sarotte

Not One Inch

Yale University Press


Vladislav Zubok


Yale University Press


Read entire article at

comments powered by Disqus