Seven World Wonders Finalists Picked

Breaking News

Only 21 finalists remain in the final stretch of the public's selection of the new seven most noteworthy landmarks in the world, the Swiss-based New7Wonders Foundation has told Discovery News.

The goal of the project is to revise the original "seven ancient wonders of the world," since only one — the pyramids of Egypt — still exists today.

Finalists for the new group are, in alphabetical order: the Acropolis in Athens; the Alhambra in Granada, Spain; Angkor, Cambodia; Chichen Itza, Yucatan, Mexico; Christ Redeemer, Rio de Janeiro; the Colosseum in Rome; Easter Island Statues, Chile; Eiffel Tower, Paris; Great Wall, China; Hagia Sofia, Istanbul; Kyomizu Temple, Kyoto, Japan; Kremlin/St. Basil, Moscow; Machu Picchu, Peru; Neuschwanstein Castle, Füssen, Germany; Petra, Jordan; Pyramids of Giza, Egypt; the Statue of Liberty, New York; Stonehenge, Amesbury, United Kingdom; Sydney Opera House, Australia; the Taj Majal, Agra, India; and Timbuktu, Mali.

Read entire article at Discovery News

comments powered by Disqus

More Comments:

Michael Meo - 4/29/2006

What a tribute to the accomplishment of Gustave Eiffel, that two of the 21 finalists for Wonders of the World are buildings he built.

The Statue of Liberty and the Eiffel Tower are both constructions, not only of the steel-girder technique pioneered by Eiffel, but constructions which he personally designed and directed.

Of course, he did not design the Liberty Statue but its scaffolding.